Seagulls and Aspect Ratio (Two Photographs)

Seagulls-2To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I decided to use a wide aspect ratio for these photographs, similar to the newer TVs and cinema formats of 19×10. Choice of the size of the frame or canvas has long been an element in art and photography. If you filled the frame on the 35mm camera you had a hard time fitting it into an 8×10 or 8.5×11 frame, so some cropping was always needed. There are many explanations of aspect ratios and frame size on the Internet but very few speak to the creative aspects. In large part this is because custom frames are expensive and the Internet is not terribly tolerant of odd aspect ratios. It is something that will most certainly work itself out, if only because creative restraints are usually challenged. For my own personal interest I have experimented and I think the shape of the frame can make a huge difference.

Seagulls

6 responses

  1. I would love to see if any closeup (seagull) you have

    Liked by 1 person

    March 26, 2016 at 11:01 am

  2. Wonderful photo! What I love about fine art America where I have a lot of my work is that you select an image and a frame or canvas or metal print and they figure everything out for you. I don’t need to adjust anything at all. I love not having to figure it out. Now that doesn’t mean I can take a 1:1 and have it come out on a 16×9 but the small differences they handle automatically.

    Like

    March 26, 2016 at 1:52 pm

  3. Always a challenge to reformat a photo to an appropriate print size. Invariably my favorite photos weren’t composed to fit in the print size I want to make, especially the canvas wraps. You’d think by now that I would crop with some extra space around the image “just in case.” I’ve had to settle for less than I wanted more than once because of this issue. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    March 27, 2016 at 10:54 am

Leave a Reply

