Colorcasts – Four Photographs

Screech Owl2-2To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I have no idea how WordPress reader will order these photographs so I encourage a view of the post itself. These are photos I took last spring of an Eastern Screech Owl. As you can see in the bottom two photographs there was an incredible green colorcast created by the light filtering through the leaves. I tried a number of techniques to remove it, including adjusting the white balance and some more involved techniques from professional photography tutorials but none dealt with a colorcast like this. I finally settled on using the tone slider in Lightroom. I could have used a similar technique in almost any photography software by removing as much of the green as I could. There was an effect on the leaves but I found that acceptable. Less acceptable were the changes in the color of the eyes, which I fixed with brightness and saturation tools. Sometimes the brute force/simple approach works best.

 

Screech Owl2

Screech Owl

Screech Owl-4

 

29 responses

  1. stunner

    Like

    April 18, 2016 at 2:16 am

  2. Very helpful advice. Thanks!

    Like

    April 18, 2016 at 3:43 am

  3. Grass is what gives me the willies sometimes with color cast…and bright reds.

    Like

    April 18, 2016 at 8:16 am

  4. Awesome. Those buggers have such good camouflage.

    Liked by 1 person

    April 18, 2016 at 8:37 am

  5. I liked the ones with the green removed best. Great shots.

    Like

    April 18, 2016 at 1:59 pm

  6. Love these, Victor. You have wonderful nature shots. For me, LR seems to handle many of the edits.

    Like

    April 18, 2016 at 2:09 pm

    • Thanks, LR does quite a bit of the heavy lifting, to heal,clone and deal with removals, PS is the best.

      Liked by 1 person

      April 18, 2016 at 3:24 pm

      • Agree. Just took a PS course. A lot to learn.

        Like

        April 18, 2016 at 4:23 pm

        • Photography in general is one long learning curve. Learning PS has helped me.

          Liked by 1 person

          April 18, 2016 at 4:34 pm

          • It sure is, Victor. I’m not the same photographer, in many ways, that I was a decade ago. I wish PS was a little more intuitive, but I am enjoying how powerful it is.

            Liked by 1 person

            April 18, 2016 at 4:44 pm

  7. truly wonderful!

    Like

    April 18, 2016 at 4:14 pm

  8. Wow, they cleaned up nicely. Love that guy’s little face!

    Like

    April 18, 2016 at 5:45 pm

  9. awesome capture

    Like

    April 18, 2016 at 6:42 pm

  10. Great captures 🙂 I’ve had similar difficulties recently photographing in the woodland alongside the canal. The best way I have found to deal with it is using either Lightroom or Adobe Camera Raw converter and a combination of adjusting WB, hue and saturation, colour balance all overall but then using adjustment brushes to bring back the tones I want to the main subject. It can be a lengthy process but making local adjustments to specific areas gives me results that I can be truly happy with 🙂

    Like

    April 18, 2016 at 7:48 pm

  11. Beautiful captures Viktor. Re selective adjustments – Photoshop takes that cake for that where you can use a layer mask to paint in or use channels to selectively apply an adjustment (lots of non destructive control). Luminance masks also come in handy for these types of adjustments.

    Like

    May 4, 2016 at 2:29 pm

    • Thanks I use layer mask in PS all the time but luminance masks is something for new for me to try.

      Like

      May 4, 2016 at 2:33 pm

  12. How amazing to see these beautiful creatures, let alone capture it in such stunning photos.

    Like

    May 8, 2016 at 4:29 pm

  13. I’m very impressed by your insects-photography, f.e. the POV, DOF and clearness.

    Like

    May 13, 2016 at 10:07 am

    • Thank you. And as soon as they are back I will be doing more.

      Like

      May 13, 2016 at 10:19 am

Leave a Reply

