Poetry and Photography (Two Photographs)

PhoebeTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

There is a reason why poetry and photography go together. Illustrated poems have a long history but there is something different about an illustration that depicts the poem and a photograph that gives rise to it. While photographs should speak for themselves and tell their own story (e.g. have impact) we can still read many things into them and it’s those ideas the poet can articulate quite separately from the photo. If we want our images  to have specific impact, poetry is certainly one of the ways of voicing this. As to the photographs here, I believe them to be an Eastern Phoebe.

Phoebe-2

8 responses

  1. I fully agree with you, there is a difference between an illustration and the picture that inspires to articulate the poem.

    Like

    April 25, 2016 at 12:11 am

  2. Do you write poetry, Victor? That would certainly add another whole dimension to your posts! 🙂

    Like

    April 25, 2016 at 3:51 pm

  3. I find that my images aren’t complete until I write the words. As I work through images, certain ones jump out ready to tell a story. They need the words to fully express what I was/am feeling about the moment I took the photograph. It is a lovely process, at least for me. Fun to read about your thoughts on poetry and photograph. I like the ability to have a visual to jump into before and after reading the words. My mind drifts through an image more fluently this way.

    Liked by 2 people

    April 25, 2016 at 6:21 pm

  4. fabulous capture

    Like

    April 25, 2016 at 7:52 pm

Leave a Reply

