How Close is too Close (Two Photographs)

BeeTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Robert Capa, the combat photographer said, “If your pictures aren’t good enough, you aren’t close enough.” In nature photography, when we can get close to our subject, the question should be asked how close is too close. Consider whether it is important to know and understand what is seen. Often with macro gear we can get so close that all context is lost and all we have is the subject. Intent is important in photography. I like my photographs to be interesting and I will always tend towards the artistic and not the scientific, be it birds or bees. How close is a matter of taste but it might be worthwhile thinking about context, and your choices about distance and perspective adding to the impact of your subject and creating an image. Ansel Adams is quoted as saying “Great photos aren’t taken, they’re made.” I agree and how close is one of the choices to take in making a photograph. These are two different photographs of the same bee.

Bee-2

 

10 responses

  1. How about this:if you disturb them and they fly or run away, that’s too close?

    Like

    April 26, 2016 at 8:30 am

  2. I agree Victor, with my flower photography I quite often like to step back and put the flower in the context of it’s environment, such as a bluebell flower in a wood – https://blog.47photography.co.uk/2015/05/07/surrey-bluebells/

    Like

    April 26, 2016 at 10:57 am

  3. I really love your distance. It’s most interesting to me to see how they live and not just a sharp closeup of the face Etc. Lovely shots!

    Like

    April 26, 2016 at 2:21 pm

  4. I can see the purpose in both. I like to see a good closeup with all its super details where I can study the insect or other subject, but also appreciate seeing the greater context. I like that you show both through your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    April 26, 2016 at 4:19 pm

  5. I get right up close and personal when I am shooting out in nature. I have actually had bees land on my hands while taking a shot. I’m all about the macro detail, how you can see the hairs on a bee when you’re closeup. It’s amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    April 26, 2016 at 6:02 pm

  6. Very useful advice, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    February 27, 2017 at 5:42 am

Leave a Reply

