Other Ways to Make a Photograph (Two Photographs)

FlowerTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Black and white photography was once a result of the film you bought, today it can also be a function of the processing you use. Black and White still retains its mantle as the purest form of photography. It’s about contrast, tonality, getting to the essence of a subject. This photograph was taken with artificial light, a flash that focuses light on the subject. Photography is all about light and artificial light is about putting light where it’s needed (a judgment call). The photograph is also centered, a composition that leaves no doubt about the subject of the photograph. All of these choices in-camera and behind the computer go into the making of a photograph, an image that has texture and meaning. In my own attempts at black and white photography, I have found getting the right amount of contrast has been a challenge and in some cases I have erred on the side of too little.

Flower-2

 

16 responses

  1. Did you try luminosity masks usomg channels in photoshop yet?

    Liked by 1 person

    April 30, 2016 at 6:43 am

  2. What a stunning photo!

    Liked by 1 person

    April 30, 2016 at 8:34 am

  3. I like it ur word press

    Like

    April 30, 2016 at 4:10 pm

  4. I wish I appreciated B/W more. I’m experimenting with it a little bit more in my photography but usually when I compare, I always vote color. Yes, I like your color version better.

    Like

    April 30, 2016 at 6:35 pm

    • To each his own. But I would encourage you to keep trying. It took me some time to think it through.

      Like

      April 30, 2016 at 6:42 pm

  5. Nicely processed! I like it better than the color one. SHOCKER!!!

    Like

    May 1, 2016 at 10:19 am

  6. What a beauty! 🙂

    Like

    May 1, 2016 at 12:02 pm

Leave a Reply

