Waxing Philosophical (Two Photographs)

Great Blue HeronTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

When you spend as much time as I do writing and thinking about photography, it is not surprising that I get a bit philosophical. This week’s posts just came out that way. The main point is that a photograph is made not snapped. With all the tools in-camera and the growth in software alternatives to adjust, modify and transform photographs, we have more tools than we need. I am ending the week with two shots of a Great Blue Heron in flight. Nik was used for detail and Tonality Pro for the Black and White.

Great Blue Heron-2

25 responses

  1. Beautiful!

    Like

    May 1, 2016 at 3:12 am

  2. very nice –

    Like

    May 1, 2016 at 6:57 am

  3. Nice dive bomb. 🙂 I love to geek out so no philosophy in this comment but I do know what you mean. This is the first time I’ve heard someone else say that they are philosophical about photography. I must live in a bubble. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    May 1, 2016 at 10:18 am

  4. I especially like the first photograph. Looks like a modern day pterodactyl. The clouds in add timelessness. Love it when it all comes together!

    Like

    May 1, 2016 at 11:27 am

  5. Pterodactyls! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    May 1, 2016 at 12:08 pm

  6. fabulous capture

    Like

    May 1, 2016 at 12:20 pm

  7. MAGNIFICENT!! ❤

    Like

    May 1, 2016 at 2:11 pm

  8. The B/W shot is very elegant. It makes the heron, at that moment, look extremely graceful.

    Like

    May 1, 2016 at 11:07 pm

  9. Wow.. The second one in grey scale is more beautiful !

    Like

    May 2, 2016 at 12:43 am

  10. mdw

    Great photo…Interesting thought.

    It reminds me of what martin scorsese once said.
    Shooting is one thing…
    But editing is where the magic happens.

    Like

    May 2, 2016 at 8:02 am

  11. Well captured…

    Like

    May 2, 2016 at 10:36 am

  12. Both great shots!

    Like

    May 2, 2016 at 8:41 pm

  13. Walter Hampson

    I tend to use Nik add in for Lightroom. I love Silver Efex Pro 2 for monochrome work. Nice results on the Heron.

    Like

    May 3, 2016 at 3:33 pm

    • Thanks. Nik is great. I have used it for years. Though I am turning to new, similar, Mac only software.

      Like

      May 3, 2016 at 3:35 pm

Leave a Reply

