It’s no great surprise…

SquirrelTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

It’s no great surprise that nature photographers, birders, naturalists etc., talk about the ethics of what they do. Most want some rules or codes of conduct to be followed, and I am one of them. When it says no dogs or bikes let’s follow the rules, leave with what we came with, not alter the terrain for a better shot and not harass the animals and feed them white bread. For the most part I stick to the paths but sometimes a crowd forms off the path because of a discovery and any damage done is already done. We find almost everything we want along the paths including nests. Many of the rules and codes I have read are limited, for example they do not address all animals, and are too constraining, e.g. never photograph babies as opposed to when you can and cannot do so. That said we should be aware that in most instances we are the giant interlopers and animals may react and get stressed. Creating noise and lots of movement ensures that no one enjoys nature reserves. Respect is the first step in thinking about ethics in nature.

17 responses

  1. Timely advice, especially during migration.

    Like

    May 5, 2016 at 3:34 am

  2. I agree completely. Plants can be easily trampled and animals disturbed. Please stay on the path 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    May 5, 2016 at 6:18 am

  3. Humans are the worst invasive species.

    Like

    May 5, 2016 at 2:12 pm

  4. I couldn’t agree more!! I’m trying to get signs with “Don’t Feed Bread To The Ducks” put up along the canal path. I would like to see more education happening with young children about why this is bad and where to get safe to use duck and goose food to give them on land only. I don’t believe in baiting wildlife for my photography. I want to capture natural behaviour! I do take bird seed and mealworm out with me to give to my feathered friends at café tables when I’m out or to give wild birds a thank you for posing 😉

    Like

    May 5, 2016 at 3:19 pm

    • Where I go, the no bikes, no dog signs are a failure. The fines are not enforced.

      Liked by 1 person

      May 5, 2016 at 3:46 pm

      • Oh don’t get me started on the cyclists! They’re allowed to use the towpath but they’re supposed to go slowly and dismount at all bridges and for pedestrians and dog walkers. They don’t! I like placing my wheelchair in inconvenient positions for them 😉 Next to kids they’re the worst litter offenders! They’ve also been known to cause accidents and threaten other towpath users.

        I think it’s all about educating future generations to have respect and understanding of the natural world and for the people visiting it. Buzzards were scared away from hunting grounds on the Surrey Hills by people out flying drones! They should be licensed to fly in Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty where there is a lot of wildlife.

        Liked by 1 person

        May 5, 2016 at 4:31 pm

  5. I chuckled when I came across this picture. 🙂 Cute! And good info for everyone on the environment.

    Like

    May 6, 2016 at 5:44 pm

  6. Well said Victor. In Boy Scouts we follow the principles of Leave No Trace.

    Like

    May 9, 2016 at 7:57 pm

Leave a Reply

