Male Wood Duck (Two Photographs)

Wooduck To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

This male wood duck is out of its mating colors. The photos are out of the camera (a little exposure fixing, noise reduction, and sharpening). Several times I have seen large groups of people shooting ducks, especially the more colorful kind. It’s not just that ducks are easier to photograph than warblers but that they have character and in their almost continuous movement we can often find interesting ways to shoot them. In my view the fact that you can establish eye contact makes many ducks more interesting.

Male Wood Duck-2

12 responses

  1. Hey Victor, yesterday I published by Swan’s picture post. Let me know your feedback.

    Liked by 1 person

    May 20, 2016 at 2:42 am

    • I don’t normally critique. I like the angle of view. Black anything is hard to shoot, and one of the swans needs a bit of work on detail, but it’s a minor issue.

      Liked by 1 person

      May 20, 2016 at 6:08 am

  2. A beautiful duck no matter the season! Your comments made me wonder why it is that we are so geared to eye contact (catchlights in photos), beyond the obvious reasons of survival that is. ‘Window to the soul,’ perhaps?

    Like

    May 20, 2016 at 9:37 pm

    • That and the fact that dark eyes are just a bit scary. Yellow warblers have black eyes almost never a catch light, it’s weird.

      Like

      May 20, 2016 at 9:51 pm

  3. Beautiful photos Victor! As long as they are cooperative, I enjoy photographing all birds! It is just that those quick little warblers are so seldom cooperative;-) Plus, I love how ducks always seem to have their eye on us!

    Like

    May 21, 2016 at 6:13 am

    • Thanks. My warblers are coming. What a trial taking them.

      Like

      May 21, 2016 at 6:46 am

  4. Fabulous!!! I love the blue feathers. 🙂

    Like

    May 23, 2016 at 10:44 am

  5. Beautiful! I’ve never seen a Wood Duck in eclipse plumage before, so this is really cool. I especially like the second picture where his blue feathers are more prominent.

    Like

    June 5, 2016 at 6:13 pm

Leave a Reply

