Turtles at Play (Three Photographs)

Turtles at Play To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Quite apart from what these turtles are doing, the interesting thing here is the color. The color of the water is a reflection of the surrounding flora, it’s what I like to call a canvas background. Given the detail of the water this verges on a confused background. Thankfully the turtles are set off by contrast. In processing the photograph the fact that I took these at 400 ISO made the colors denser. It also added a blue colorcast to the wood that the turtles were on. I adjusted the color to bring it back to black. One argument made for black and white is that color can be overwhelming and it can distract from even the simplest story. So I did one in black and white and it certainly has its merits. I am not sure that either treatment is definitive in this argument. I am sure that personal choice plays a role. Photography involves many trade-offs and choices, in this case I think I like the color versions best.

Turtles at Play-2

Turtles at Play HDR

6 responses

  1. The color certainly adds a lot to the photo – I love reflected light!

    Like

    May 21, 2016 at 9:09 pm

  2. Yep, in the end this is about colour and pattern. Wouldn’t mind seeing a bit more contrast in the B&W version. Geez, I’m annoyingly picky, eh? 🙂

    Like

    May 22, 2016 at 9:38 am

  3. Sometimes I will desaturate the color around the subject just so it doesn’t compete.

    Like

    May 23, 2016 at 10:43 am

Leave a Reply

