A Mayfly and more about Getting Closer (Two Photographs)

 MayFlyTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

These are two photographs of the same mayfly, the only difference is that I moved myself closer to the insect in one than in the other. Given the nature of telephoto lenses even long macro lenses, the narrow depth of field gives the closer version an almost 3D look. The other point to be made about the closer shot is that the composition to my mind is more interesting. Getting closer, with a narrow depth of field has some effects on the way the background goes out of focus, most notably on the edges of leaves, and it may be difficult to decide how much sharpening to use (selectively) on the subject. I have erred here on a bit more sharpening to emphasize the dimensional illusion (3D).

MayFly-2

10 responses

  1. Adorable

    Like

    May 23, 2016 at 1:11 am

  2. Both shots are really good, but I especially like the closer one (for the reasons that you explained so well). It’s a real challenge, though, being able to get as close as we want. Sometimes, alas, we have to be satisfied with long-distance shots.

    Like

    May 23, 2016 at 7:04 am

  3. Mega work as always Victor, keep rocking them macro shots!

    Like

    May 23, 2016 at 7:51 am

    • Thanks I certainly will so long as the opportunity presents itself.

      Like

      May 23, 2016 at 7:52 am

  4. I love how the leaves echo the shape of the wings!

    Like

    May 23, 2016 at 10:41 am

  5. Wow, amazing detail. I’ve never seen such a great photo of a mayfly. I didn’t know about the red eyes! When I see mayflies, I think of them as such an important food for fish and birds. Love their undulating flight patterns.

    Like

    May 24, 2016 at 11:06 pm

    • Thanks. I will have to try and get them in flight this year.

      Like

      May 24, 2016 at 11:22 pm

Leave a Reply

