Some Views on Software (Four Photographs)

WindowsTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

In my view windows often have their own character, especially when you get into their details like the reflections and shapes. I took these some time ago.

I wanted to write a bit about the software I use. In addition to Lightroom and Photoshop, Nik was my stand-by “effects” software for years. I also occasionally used some of the Topaz Labs tools (Clarity, Adjust, Detail) when more detail was needed on non-nature photographs. On a whim I tried MacPhun’s offerings and I now have their Creative Kit plus Aurora HDR. MacPhun unfortunately is Mac only. I am increasingly impressed with Macphun’s Intensity CK, Tonality CK (for black and white) and Aurora HDR. Specifically I find them easier to manage, more subtle and realistic effects especially for details. In addition, the process is less time consuming than some of the other packages. I have a quibble though, when you go to use the brush it’s almost always at its largest size rather then the size you last used. I would also like to see some more advanced selection tools than currently exist (along the lines of the quick selection or magic wand tool in Photoshop, or even the Nik point system). Both are minor issues. That said most of my work is now done using Noiseless CK, Intensity CK and Tonality CK as my primary plug-ins. The attached photos were done using those tools.

Windows-4

Windows-2

Windows-3

19 responses

  1. I like onOne a lot.

    Like

    May 31, 2016 at 4:03 am

  2. pzf

    I also use Nik but it looks like Google is probably abandoning further development of the suite, which is a shame. I’ve not heard of the Macphun suite, so I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for the useful tips, as always.

    Liked by 2 people

    May 31, 2016 at 4:27 am

  3. I like Macphun Intensify a lot and find myself using certain settings in combination with other filters in PS. I’m learning more and more how to do things in PS directly though and have been using less filters. Well sorta. 😉 These are wonderful photos Victor.

    Like

    May 31, 2016 at 11:20 am

    • Thanks. While learning PS is a hassle, it’s worth it. It does not however do detail extraction this is where plug-ins excell.

      Liked by 1 person

      May 31, 2016 at 3:36 pm

      • Have you tried high pass overlay for sharpening in PS? Sometimes I’ll do that and use a mask and adjust the opacity so it only shows on some of the image. But I will admit Macphun with some of the clarity and structure presets is pretty darn good.

        Like

        May 31, 2016 at 3:38 pm

  4. I use mainly Photoshop and Lightroom, but I do have On1 and Topaz Adjust as well as the Nik Collection. Lately I have been venturing more into other software apart from Photoshop and Lightroom, and can’t wait for Aurora to be made available on Windows. Beautiful photos Victor…I love the first black and white where the reflection is all warped.. xx

    Like

    May 31, 2016 at 11:28 am

    • Thanks. All sorts of options. I gave my views of what I use. I hope MacPhun goes PC as well.

      Like

      May 31, 2016 at 8:32 pm

      • They say they have a windows version of Aurora in the pipeline… can’t wait for them to release it. 😀 😀 I’ll be like a kid with a new toy 😀 😀

        Like

        June 1, 2016 at 4:50 am

  5. Very helpful and great pics as usual. So far, I’ve only used lightroom so it’s good to know what else is out there. I’m particularly interested in de-noising software.

    Like

    May 31, 2016 at 12:00 pm

  6. Thanks for sharing. I have not used Macphum yet. I use primarily Photoshop and was using Nik quite extensively. Lately, I’ve found myself doing more image adjustments in Camera RAW and dodge and burn in Photoshop.
    Another great piece of software, especially for clarity is Piccure. Since I started shooting with my D800 and running the images through this software, it’s surprised me how much even a good lense can soften an image when using full-frame / hi resolution cameras. I’m currently trialling it but am likely to purchase, since the results are quite astounding.

    Like

    May 31, 2016 at 12:27 pm

  7. Me Gusta Este Blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    September 1, 2016 at 6:15 pm

Leave a Reply

