Dark-Eyed Juncos and a Long Lens (Four Photographs)

Dark-Eyed JuncosTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

These were taken with my new Nikon 200-500 5.6 lens, before I learned a few things. It was after this that I figured out that shooting one stop up from F5.6 made a lot of difference in quality. In addition I had been shooting everything at 500mm, when pulling back would have helped in composition and quality. The solution to this was to re-set the lens to 300mm after every shot and zoom in from there. The advantage of using lenses 300mm or more for taking birds, I am told, is that the bird will less likely be spooked by your presence. This works less often than you would like.

Dark-Eyed Juncos-4

Dark-Eyed Juncos-2

Dark-Eyed Juncos-3

 

24 responses

  1. pzf

    Beautiful photos, Victor! I’ve been thinking about buying a longer lens to photograph the birds in my garden. I had been thinking about getting a 300mm prime lens, but I’m going to seriously consider the 200-500 having seen these shots. May I ask which body you used with it, please?

    Liked by 1 person

    June 2, 2016 at 6:34 am

    • Good question. I have used it on the D7200 and on the D500. If I had bought the 200-500 first I would not have bought the 300. The three is a “perfect” lens. Big aperture, well tuned. You loose a little IQ with the zoom, but not enough to matter. You lose some shallow depth of field options. The 200-500 focuses slower, but without comparison who cares, it’s also noisier. Hope this helps.

      Liked by 2 people

      June 2, 2016 at 6:47 am

  2. I would like that lens too. I bought a Sigma 150-600 mm last year for my D750 and love it. I also have a Nikon 80-400 mm which I bought in 2013.

    Liked by 1 person

    June 2, 2016 at 6:45 am

  3. I recently got a Tamron 70-200 lens and I’m still learning its ins and outs. Good tips.

    Liked by 1 person

    June 2, 2016 at 8:29 am

    • It’s interesting people don’t learn about their lenses.
      Kit lenses often make great macro stater lenses. Any wide angle gets very close. 70-200 lenses can also get closer than people think. Go the minimal focus distance on all your lenses and have look which lets you get closest.

      Liked by 1 person

      June 2, 2016 at 8:58 am

  4. Really love the photo’s of the Juncos! Especially the third one; it’s a picture I’d frame and hang on the wall.

    Liked by 2 people

    June 2, 2016 at 9:07 am

  5. Good one!

    Like

    June 2, 2016 at 11:04 am

  6. She looks like she’s posing for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    June 2, 2016 at 4:08 pm

  7. Such beautiful shots. But why are the birds less spooked using a lens at 300? Maybe I misread without my glasses.

    Like

    June 2, 2016 at 8:50 pm

  8. I had a quick double take seeing a winter bird and icy snow! How quickly the mind erases the uncomfortable past. 😉 Great closeup shots of this sweet winter visitor, Victor!

    Like

    June 2, 2016 at 10:12 pm

  9. Beautiful little morsels…. : ))

    Liked by 1 person

    June 3, 2016 at 4:29 am

  10. Beautiful! How often does one find a lone bird lavishing in chilly snow? what great shots!

    Like

    June 19, 2016 at 11:30 am

Leave a Reply

