Mourning Cloaks (Four Photographs) and a word on processing

   Mourning CloaksTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I took these photos with a very long lens, with the intent of focusing on the butterfly’s checkerboard eyes.

It was suggested to me that I write more on the specifics of processing which I will do over the next few posts. It poses a challenge and there are a variety of basic editors available. I will try to be generic, although I use Lightroom and Photoshop. There are tools common to all editing programs and the focus will be on those tools. I will be the first to note that processing is a constant learning curve. I will try to cover the basics and I hope it will help in selecting an editor and knowing more about the common editing tools.

Mourning Cloaks-2

Mourning Cloaks-3

Mourning Cloaks-4

 

13 responses

  1. Great photos! I really love seeing the different patterns on butterflies eyes 🙂 So I thought I recognised the butterfly but not the name and did some checking! We call it the Camberwell Beauty in the UK but like the Tortoiseshell it’s a migrant species and the origins of the name comes from its Scandinavian and Germanic habitats. It’s not always spotted in the UK during the summer! Very dependant on weather conditions.

    Like

    June 6, 2016 at 7:52 pm

  2. Nice macro! I use my long lens too when I shoot insects. I have such a fear
    Of them :/

    Liked by 1 person

    September 13, 2016 at 10:02 pm

Leave a Reply

