Yellow Warbler (Five Photographs)

Yellow Warbler-5To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

These were taken during the annual warbler migration in May. Warbler season brings out the big lenses. The birds are tiny and tend to flit about, never staying still but for a moment. If you look at the whole series you will see one picture where the bird chose to fly to another branch.  Even with a longer lens, and I was using a 200-500mm, you are going to crop significantly given the distance to the bird.  I used an older sharpening method (new layer in Photoshop, High Pass Filter to reduce the blur until you can just see the outline of your subject, then add a soft light blending mode to the blur layer). It’s a method I use when I want the photo as a whole to have a boost in clarity. One last thing this bird has black/black eyes and I was happy to get a glint in one eye in two of the shots. I have a few more warblers coming, fingers crossed.

Yellow Warbler-2

Yellow Warbler-3

Yellow Warbler-4

Yellow Warbler

 

30 responses

  1. Lee

    Great photos!

    Like

    June 28, 2016 at 6:46 am

  2. You have some wonderful photos! Very good! When I hit like under the photos nothing seems to happen? Anyway very good.

    Like

    June 28, 2016 at 7:21 am

  3. Wonderful photos! I am still waiting for my sharp shot of a yellow warbler; those little guys are so fast:-)

    Like

    June 28, 2016 at 7:22 am

    • Thank you and good luck, it’s all in the shutterspred😀

      Like

      June 28, 2016 at 7:33 am

  4. the first one is too good 🙂

    Like

    June 28, 2016 at 8:25 am

  5. I love these pictures. Yellow Warblers are one of my favorites. The photo of him flying is really cool. And I can hear his little voice singing as I look at the top photo 😄

    Like

    June 28, 2016 at 9:08 am

    • Thank you. They are great lookers and have a wonderful song.

      Like

      June 28, 2016 at 9:12 am

  6. Wow!!! That’s one of the best pictures of the bird.

    Like

    June 28, 2016 at 11:47 am

  7. These are impressively sharp, Victor., and the yellow so beautifully vivid. Great Shots! I like to use high pass filter also.

    Like

    June 28, 2016 at 1:57 pm

  8. I love how you caught him singing!

    Like

    June 28, 2016 at 4:54 pm

  9. Those are amazing! I love the fact that the lichen just about matches the bird.

    Like

    June 28, 2016 at 9:31 pm

  10. Excellent shots, Victor. I love the first of him singing his heart out. 🙂

    Like

    June 28, 2016 at 10:42 pm

  11. I love them!!!!

    Like

    June 29, 2016 at 11:35 pm

  12. Great work fella, eye popping colour.

    Like

    July 4, 2016 at 12:41 pm

  13. I think this are all very nice shots but the first one, with the open beak, is really special.

    Like

    July 5, 2016 at 6:28 pm

  14. I just love the first shot!

    Like

    July 28, 2016 at 6:31 pm

Leave a Reply

