Bullfrog (Three Photographs)

Bull FrogTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

You can often hear the bullfrogs but like many animals they know how to hide. I was very pleased to see one out in the open even if it was at the limit of my lens. Here you can see the bullfrog’s throat expand and contract. I have passed this spot many times hoping to see one again in better light but as I say they are hard to spot. Processing these were difficult because of the distance over water resulting in haze and lack of contrast. I used the Orton effect I described sometime back and while it had the desired effect on contrast and haze, it changed the color palette slightly. My favorite shot is the full-throated one.

Bull Frog-2

Bull Frog-3

 

18 responses

  1. I love the frog lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    July 5, 2016 at 1:42 am

  2. Great capture! These guys are elusive.

    Like

    July 5, 2016 at 6:23 am

  3. Amazing shots Victor!

    Like

    July 5, 2016 at 6:31 am

  4. Fantastic shots, especially the main photo where you captured the reflection of his eye. I have heard them often, but have never seen one. Thanks for sharing another great series of images!

    Like

    July 5, 2016 at 8:26 am

  5. Great captures. 🙂 I like the first shot best, with the reflection and more of his leg in view.

    Like

    July 5, 2016 at 8:39 am

  6. Gorgeous! 🙂

    Like

    July 5, 2016 at 10:27 am

  7. Great shots, VIktor. A purple, green and yellow bullfrog – what’s not to love! I’ve never seen a bullfrog (I must get out more) … my “amphibious” experience is so far limited to toads and small frogs.

    Like

    July 5, 2016 at 10:37 am

  8. Oh how I love these captures! I love bullfrogs sounds….although sometimes they can get REALLY loud! You’re right…they aren’t visible too often and if you get close, they go back under the water.

    Like

    July 5, 2016 at 6:41 pm

  9. These are wonderful! You’re right – they are very hard to spot, esp. in good light.

    Like

    July 6, 2016 at 10:58 pm

Leave a Reply

