Swallowtails (Three Photographs) and some Final Words on Sharp Photographs

Swallow Tail ButterfliesTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

These are the largest butterflies where I live, 83-113mm (3.2-4.4 inches). When feeding they have a tendency to move their wings very rapidly. From experience, getting close to them depends on how hungry they are. In an urban environment they may linger in a garden, but in a forest they have a lot of choice and will only infrequently stay put when they see humans. They usually fly quite high and fast. I came across this butterfly when I was carrying a long lens, which allowed me to stand back. 1/1250th of second shutter speed allowed me to stop motion and get these poses before it flew off.

Part VII: Final words on sharp photos

Not everything needs to be sharp and I am speaking about more than just the background. Sometimes soft-focus works in portraits and in nature.

Flash photography involves fast spurts of light that can stop motion and help get sharp photos; insect photography is a good example.

Getting subjects tack sharp is one element of photography, not an end in itself.

Swallow Tail Butterflies-2

Swallow Tail Butterflies-3

13 responses

  1. I agree with you about soft focus, but the eyes should be in focus.

    Liked by 1 person

    July 18, 2016 at 5:01 am

  2. Very nice post….all i can say is…. amazing

    Like

    July 18, 2016 at 11:59 am

  3. These are a superb set of photos. You have captured a most beautiful butterfly.

    Like

    July 18, 2016 at 12:08 pm

  4. I rarely see these large butterflies, but it is always an event when I do. I wonder what he was doing on poison ivy? Perhaps he just emerged from his chrysalis?

    Like

    July 18, 2016 at 1:06 pm

  5. Great shot. I got a good one of a spice bush swallow tail recently which I hope to post soon. They are magnificent butterflies.

    Like

    July 18, 2016 at 5:57 pm

  6. Beautiful!

    Like

    July 27, 2016 at 9:30 pm

Leave a Reply

