A Bird in Difficult Light (Five Photos)

Juvenile 5-2    To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

When I came out from the trail onto the lake I saw this bird and was anxious to take photographs. I was worried it would fly away and so I did not chimp (look at the back of my camera checking my exposure). Had I done so I would have increased the ISO and used spot metering. I was left with noisy underexposed/back-lit photographs that were a bit tough to edit. I increased the brightness and contrast adjustments to brighten the bird, while leaving the rest of the photos alone (using masks and levels in Photoshop). A rescue for sure, and a reminder not to get distracted from checking settings. By the way in the second photo the bird has a dragonfly in its mouth. The Bird is a juvenile black-crowned heron.

Juvenile Black-Crowned Heron

Juvenile Black-Crowned Heron-4

Juvenile Black-Crowned Heron-3

Juvenile Black-Crowned Heron-2

 

14 responses

  1. I just love it, awesome !

    Liked by 1 person

    July 26, 2016 at 6:35 am

  2. Hillechien

    Superbes pictures

    Liked by 1 person

    July 26, 2016 at 6:53 am

  3. TPJ

    Shooting wildlife means improvising 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    July 26, 2016 at 7:38 am

  4. Those pictures look a absolutely fine to me. Apparently you are very good with PS. Even the noise has magically disappeared 😉

    Like

    July 26, 2016 at 2:19 pm

  5. Beautiful in the difficult light…always so lovely Victor ☺️

    Like

    July 26, 2016 at 9:53 pm

  6. You did a great job, Victor.

    Like

    July 27, 2016 at 8:42 pm

  7. It is a Juvenile Black crowned Night-heron

    Like

    August 6, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Leave a Reply

