Giant Swallowtail (Two Photographs)

Giant SwallowwtailTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Three years ago, and probably due to climate change the range of these butterflies extended northward. Since then there has been a growing population here in Canada. They are certainly larger than warblers and notoriously hard to shoot. These were taken at 480mm on a cropped sensor. Even so a modest crop was needed. As usual I took several shots, this time through a break in the bush. After going through a series of very similar shots I had a hard time figuring out which to choose. I chose this photo because the two antennae were easier to see and the damage at the back of the butterfly was minimized. I have included a black and white version because in my view it adds drama to the insect.

Giant Swallowwtail-2

One response

  1. Wow, bigger than the warbler!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    August 4, 2016 at 9:35 pm

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.