Wood Satyr Butterfly (Two Photographs)

Wood SatyrTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

You will notice other insects along with the Wood Satyr Butterfly; most notably in the second photo a male midge is underneath the butterfly. I was forced to move around a bit to get a better angle on the butterfly, and normally I would have expected it to fly off but I was lucky. The effort to get as much of the butterfly in the photo and an unobtrusive background often takes some work, always at the risk of your subject deciding to leave. Given the damage to its wings, I think this butterfly was getting on in life and either lacked energy or did not see me as a threat.

Wood Satyr-2

3 responses

  1. Oh I love browns! It’s very reminiscent of some of the species that have been doing well here this year, the speckled wood, gatekeeper and ringlet 🙂 It’s a distinctive one though and I couldn’t resist looking it up to find out more about it! A true American beauty 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    August 11, 2016 at 8:01 pm

  2. I especially like the second because of the angle of the wings and the clarity of the head. The midge adds a bit of interest!

    Like

    August 11, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Leave a Reply

