Merganser Chicks (Four Photographs) and a Tip

Wooducks 1To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I took about twenty shots of this scene over a short time; few of the subjects remained still. There is a lot going on in the first photograph and it may not be as impactful on the web as it is on a large monitor. Each of these photographs is unique and all I have done is crop into the photos to get a different story. You could also do this with one photograph, isolating details by creating different crops. This is not quite what happened here, nonetheless had I left all four at full frame the photos would have looked very similar. Just some food for thought on cropping.

 

Wood Ducks-3

Wood Ducks-4

Wood Ducks-2

14 responses

  1. Hmm that’s a great tip. I always forget that my camera shoots such large stills

    Liked by 1 person

    August 23, 2016 at 1:21 am

  2. very nice!

    Like

    August 23, 2016 at 4:28 am

  3. Very nice! The second and third photos are adorable. I recently cropped a photo I had of a Merganzer duck and I was surprised to see there was a long line of ducklings on the log with her that I couldn’t see with my eye.

    Liked by 1 person

    August 23, 2016 at 8:01 am

  4. Beautiful chickies! Love them!

    Like

    August 24, 2016 at 10:40 am

  5. Wonderful stories in each and splendid example of the effect of impactful cropping. I think the duck and turtle would have a humorous caption.

    Like

    August 24, 2016 at 10:20 pm

  6. TPJ

    Clever article.

    Like

    August 30, 2016 at 10:15 pm

Leave a Reply

