Sunflower (Three Photographs) and a Rant on Perfection

SunflowerTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I would stay clear of photography tutors that admonish that one should only shoot perfect flowers. They also tell you not to shoot straight down at the heart of the flower. Like most admonitions, they speak more about those who pronounce them than they do about anything else. Perfection is a lofty goal and in my experience usually unobtainable. Even in manicured gardens the bugs get there first. In this case a sweat bee, which had I seen earlier would have been the focus of my shot. You could spend considerable time in post processing repairing the vegetation. But that is an individual choice that may or may not have anything to do with the quality or impact of the photograph. Rather than be told to go find the box of sprocket holes (which newbie movie film crew members always fall for), look for the outstanding.

Sunflower-2

Sunfloer-2

20 responses

  1. I am vindicated 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    September 3, 2016 at 1:44 am

    • Earlier you asked if you might repost one of my posts. I notice you have done it again. I appreciate being asked.

      Liked by 1 person

      September 3, 2016 at 6:53 am

      • next time I’ll just use the link – but I actually repressed it so just have the first image – btw I was thinking about what you were saying while I was in the Botanic Garden’s yesterday as I took some photos of the overblown Tulips

        Like

        September 6, 2016 at 5:43 am

  2. Lovely thoughts and shots.

    Liked by 1 person

    September 3, 2016 at 5:56 am

  3. Sound thoughts

    Liked by 1 person

    September 3, 2016 at 7:25 am

  4. And excellent photographs, of course 🙂

    Like

    September 3, 2016 at 7:26 am

  5. I agree totally. I take photos to see specific things, not to be sold in a gallery.
    Love the back of the sunflower shot. That’s what I’m talking about 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    September 3, 2016 at 9:35 am

  6. Most of us aren’t photographing for textbook manuals, but for the joy of expressing what we see in our own way. Thank goodness! 🙂

    Like

    September 3, 2016 at 6:22 pm

  7. I agree with you entirely! Nature is not perfect anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    September 3, 2016 at 9:35 pm

  8. Great points, Victor. I’ll take natural any day. Great shots to illustrate.

    Like

    September 3, 2016 at 10:08 pm

  9. That last one is amazing Victor. Love it!

    Like

    September 5, 2016 at 11:13 am

  10. There is always perfection in the imperfections don’t you think?? Great post and photos

    Like

    September 6, 2016 at 4:04 pm

Leave a Reply

