Dragonflies (Three Photographs)

DragonfliesTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

In spite of the dragonfly swarm I wrote about in a past post (https://rakmilphotography.wordpress.com/2016/07/25/dragon-storm-five-photographs/) this summer I have seen far fewer dragonflies than most years. I suspect the drought has something to do with it. While I have Denis Paulson’s excellent “Dragonflies and Damselflies of the East”, I do not want to go out on limb and name these. I suspect they are two different varieties here because of the color of the eyes. I used flash in the first and natural light in the other two and both have specular highlights, which only tells me that the eyes of dragonflies are highly reflective equally of the sun and flash. While dragonflies will hang like this and pose for a fairly long time, they know you are around. This creates a problem if you move suddenly or as I have done more than once tried to move to get a face on portrait.

Dragonflies-2

Dragonflies-3

13 responses

  1. Beautiful shots!

    Liked by 1 person

    September 9, 2016 at 7:57 am

  2. Nice work Victor. As you say, they are not always an easy subject to capture.

    Like

    September 9, 2016 at 8:08 am

  3. Beautiful!

    Like

    September 9, 2016 at 11:43 am

  4. Marvelous detail – it’s such a great insect!

    Like

    September 9, 2016 at 8:49 pm

  5. In the first photograph, I imagined the farthest wing of the dragonfly being glued to the broken stalk of the dry plant.

    Liked by 1 person

    September 12, 2016 at 7:05 am

  6. Lovey images. My guess, and I’m no expert by any stretch of the imagination, is that it’s a Slender Baskettail.

    Like

    September 25, 2016 at 10:00 am

Leave a Reply

