A Scorpion Fly (Three Photographs)

scorpion-flyTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I had never seen a scorpion fly before but it seems they are very common. I was taken by the interesting colors and patterns of this creature as well as its snout, which gives it an odd appearance. Apparently they have an elaborate mating ritual in which the male is selected by the gifts he brings his potential mate, usually food. I used Lumenzia on this to get a touch darker leaf; it worked very well. There has been a lot of mention of luminosity masks in the comments on my blog and I have tried many solutions before buying the Lumenzia add-in for Photoshop. Very pleased with my first attempt and we will see how it goes from here. Also thanks to Bugguide.net for identifying this insect for me.

scorpion-fly-3

scorpion-fly-2

14 responses

  1. Nice shots. Looks like one I once photographed on my dahlia.

    Liked by 1 person

    October 10, 2016 at 3:26 am

  2. Interesting looking critter.

    Liked by 2 people

    October 10, 2016 at 7:50 am

  3. He reminds me of Gonzo, from the Muppets 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    October 10, 2016 at 7:51 am

  4. Wonderful images, Victor! Perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

    October 10, 2016 at 1:06 pm

  5. Nice shots of a very interesting looking insect. I’m kid of surprised it was on a background that offered absolutely no camouflage. Possibly insects don’t have the same color vision as us. Regardless, it gave you a nice opportunity that you took good advantage of.

    Liked by 1 person

    October 10, 2016 at 5:09 pm

    • You are right most of the time, insects will make use of color. I have therefore been surprised to see ambush bugs and assassin bugs on foliage where they stand out.

      Liked by 1 person

      October 10, 2016 at 5:19 pm

  6. I’ve seen these before, but never so close – wow, cool-looking fly!

    Liked by 1 person

    October 10, 2016 at 9:49 pm

    • On average a close look changes perspective😀

      Like

      October 10, 2016 at 10:06 pm

      • It really does! I appreciate how close your photos enable us to see. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        October 10, 2016 at 10:16 pm

  7. Great shots but I am shuddering….

    Liked by 1 person

    October 14, 2016 at 11:01 am

Leave a Reply

