A Cloudy-wing Butterfly (Four Photographs and some Notions)

faded-cloudywing-butterflyTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I took the photos of this faded butterfly with the thought that while the butterfly was interesting the background was not great. My settings in camera stayed the same, my position changed, as did my framing. A bit of softness to the photo added to the airy quality. In processing I followed a normal sequence of adjusting exposure, highlights, shadows, noise reduction, sharpening, detail extraction, and a levels adjustment for contrast. The color versions came out well enough, but moving to black and white seemed like a good idea. In black and white my adjustments made the background go cloudy. The adjustments further increased detail in the butterfly. In the end I have four photographs, my preference is for the black and whites. Visualizing a result, getting options so that you have choices, that’s what I like. I am going to let these sit for a few months and age before choosing which one I prefer.

faded-cloudywing-butterfly-2

faded-cloudywing-butterfly-3

faded-cloudywing-butterfly-4

 

 

7 responses

  1. Usually I have a strong feeling about one over the other but here I find them equal…with a slight nudge to the first one.

    Liked by 1 person

    October 13, 2016 at 4:49 pm

    • Thanks. For the most part I like subtle changes when dealing with nature. Urban stuff is different

      Liked by 1 person

      October 13, 2016 at 4:51 pm

      • I like seeing different presentations…I like subtle wildlife but sunsets…well that’s a different matter. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        October 13, 2016 at 5:46 pm

  2. Think I like the third version best. The light background contrasts better with the plant, but the background behind butterfly could be darkened to create contrast there as well. Guess that’s my armchair/spectator post processing for the day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    October 13, 2016 at 9:49 pm

  3. Love the choice of processings, Victor. I’d like the top one best except for the distracting background.

    Liked by 1 person

    October 14, 2016 at 12:27 am

Leave a Reply

