Female Merganser Duck (Six Photographs) and some B/W ideas

   merganser-duck To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

This duck swam through three different colors of water, which makes the color shots interesting in and of themselves. However, I wanted to see how these backgrounds looked in B&W. I added a little brightness to the images in the conversion. As you can see in the conversions to B&W, the only difference is in texture. This was useful for me because I was thinking that like the color filters applied to B&W to effect changes in tonality, the color of the water would also reflect different tonalities but if they have it’s subtle (using software filters make a bigger difference). So in the future I will think less about the color of a background and more about its texture in my B&W work.

merganser-duck-2

merganser-duck-3

merganser-duck-4

merganser-duck-5

merganser-duck-6

14 responses

  1. Good illustrations of your point – enjoyable series, Victor. Punk duck. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    October 26, 2016 at 4:18 am

  2. exquisite

    Like

    October 26, 2016 at 4:36 am

  3. You know how I love them! I prefer the color because the contrast between the water and their plumage is the greatest imho. And I love their plumage!

    Liked by 1 person

    October 26, 2016 at 10:45 am

  4. Oh btw…I like your new logo.

    Like

    October 26, 2016 at 10:46 am

  5. She sure stands out more on the third one in the b&w set.

    Like

    October 26, 2016 at 1:55 pm

  6. cute pic..!!

    Like

    October 26, 2016 at 9:27 pm

Leave a Reply

