Hairy Woodpecker (Three Photographs)

hairy-woodpecker-2To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

This is either a downy or a hairy woodpecker and I am going with hairy. These birds can make a racket when pounding away, hard to believe how small they are given all the hammering and how fast they move around the tree. I don’t recall the first time I heard about the importance of eyes in photographs of people and animals (much the same admonitions apply to both), but I do know I think a lot about them and often edit eyes to make them more visible (only once in these three photographs – the photo where the head is turned away from the camera). In the second photograph, I could not help thinking that this little bird was getting just a little tired.

hairy-woodpecker

hairy-woodpecker-3

11 responses

  1. Wonderful photographs!

    Like

    November 21, 2016 at 7:42 am

  2. Great shots; I like that first one best. The woodpeckers have evolved some special skull adaptations to absorb the trauma of their drumming you describe. The Downy vs. Hairy thing is tough.

    Like

    November 21, 2016 at 10:16 am

  3. I always enjoy your photos, sharp, natural and lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    November 21, 2016 at 4:57 pm

  4. ESJ

    Very nice photos, I especially like the first one — a pose you don’t normally catch from a woodpecker. I would have said Downy due to the size of the beak. The Hairy has a beak that is proportionally longer compared to the size of his head. On the other hand, I often refer to them as “Hairy-Downy.”

    Like

    November 21, 2016 at 6:00 pm

  5. I wonder if they close their eyes while they are hammering away so they don’t get splinters and sawdust in their eyes….woodpecker version of wearing your safety goggles.

    Like

    November 21, 2016 at 8:57 pm

  6. Love these guys! I see the Downey more often tho.

    Liked by 1 person

    November 22, 2016 at 6:51 am

Leave a Reply

