Satyr Comma Butterfly (Three Photographs)

satyr-comma-butterflyTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

These photos were taken back in May (I don’t tend to process my photos immediately, I prefer some variety on my blog). Butterflies go to ground to get salt and minerals they need, and it’s a great opportunity to get good photos. My reluctance to shoot insects on the ground is that the backgrounds tend to be tricky, especially with nearby elements out of focus. If the brightest most noticeable thing in the photo is not the subject, it can be a slight concern. I like to see the eyes of whatever I shoot and many people prefer the butterfly wing as a major part of their photo. Getting both is not normally easy, when the butterfly is on the ground their wing movements makes it a little easier.

satyr-comma-butterfly-3

satyr-comma-butterfly-2

9 responses

  1. Very nice shots. I know how difficult it is to photograph butterflies on the ground, especially when their colors tend to blend in with the background.

    Like

    November 25, 2016 at 6:11 am

  2. very nice..
    sharing one my recent post on Common Myna Bird
    http://birdandwildlifephotography.com/common-myna/

    Like

    November 25, 2016 at 9:57 pm

  3. Love its opalescent thorax – a handsome subject!

    Like

    November 25, 2016 at 10:05 pm

  4. Nice butterfly and photos.

    Like

    May 20, 2017 at 12:24 am

Leave a Reply

