Montreal Murals and a Few Thoughts on the Photography (Five Photographs)

murals-2To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Murals like these exist in major cities around the world and are popular subjects for photography. I was taking one of the shots when a man stopped to tell me that there was another mural around the corner I should see. He was right. I looked down the alley beside the mural and saw three photographers systematically photographing the walls of the alley; it made me smile. There are a number of ways to take shots like this, and often the effort is made to avoid key stoning. Key stoning is the phenomenon where because of the angle of the camera, the building appears to lean back. Expensive perspective correcting lenses can fix this, as can bellows. It can also be corrected in most software though it can crop out parts of the photo. Or better yet you can make it work for you. Another consideration is how much context you want in your photo, that is the area above, below and around the subject. If possible I always want to get some context into my photos. I want the photo to reflect my own perspective. These were taken with the Fuji XT-2.

murals-3

murals-4

murals-5

murals

10 responses

  1. TPJ

    Really nice

    Like

    November 29, 2016 at 7:44 am

  2. Montreal actually have a fine collection of murals. There is even a few festivals during the summer where international artists are invited to paint a new murals. I have photographed all of these ones which are in fairly central parts of Montreal. All of these murals, I think, were created during one of the festival…(Suzanne)

    Like

    November 29, 2016 at 10:38 am

    • Thanks for this. Montreal is my hometown. I live elsewhere now. Hope to visit often.

      Like

      November 29, 2016 at 11:53 am

      • Didn’t realize it was your hometown. I thought you had come as a tourist. So you certainly know that Montreal is well known for its murals…

        Liked by 1 person

        November 29, 2016 at 5:08 pm

  3. mpphotographe

    Excellent !!!!

    Like

    November 30, 2016 at 9:26 am

  4. Nice

    Liked by 1 person

    November 30, 2016 at 3:25 pm

  5. I Love Montreal!

    Like

    January 25, 2017 at 4:36 pm

Leave a Reply

