Seagulls (Five Photographs) and Some Words on Projects

seagullsTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Professional photographers are always talking about how important self-directed personal projects are. They help them develop, get new ideas and build their audience. For amateurs the project approach can have the same results but I approach it slightly differently. Every year I look back and see what I could have done better or what needs more work and I start thinking about things I have yet to try. Last year I wanted to do more birds in flight which I have done, I will be featuring more in the future. I also wanted to learn more about B&W (or get more comfortable in using it). These seagulls capture some of both, the in flight and B&W. I have more work to do on B&W and it will be one of my “projects” going forward.

seagulls-5

seagulls-4

seagulls-3

seagulls-2

20 responses

  1. Great photos as always. There’s an interesting pattern in the background clouds in the third shot and I am very curious as to what is going on there. Was it taken through a window perhaps?

    Like

    December 5, 2016 at 2:34 am

    • Thanks. Taken on the edge of a lake a few out of focus branches may have helped the background.

      Liked by 1 person

      December 5, 2016 at 6:09 am

  2. stunning

    Like

    December 5, 2016 at 6:09 am

  3. Very beautiful photos and observations, Victor. Comparing over time can be most helpful.

    Like

    December 5, 2016 at 8:57 am

  4. voww…nice photography…
    love to share one river tern flight shot I took recently..
    River Tern

    Liked by 1 person

    December 5, 2016 at 11:23 am

  5. Really beautiful, Victor.

    Like

    December 5, 2016 at 11:47 am

  6. Cristina

    These are gorgeous! The third one is my favorite. Love the sunlight on its wings 🙂

    Like

    December 5, 2016 at 12:52 pm

  7. Wonderful photographs! So beautiful

    Like

    December 5, 2016 at 1:52 pm

  8. TPJ

    We ‘older’ photographers like to practice color 🙂

    Like

    December 5, 2016 at 9:02 pm

  9. Is it just me or does it look like this bird has only one foot?

    Like

    December 6, 2016 at 1:39 pm

  10. Expression of freedom. Nice pics.

    Like

    December 16, 2016 at 3:30 am

Leave a Reply

