A Yellow Rump and Comments on Editing (Three Photographs) and More on WordPress

yellow-rumpTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I had a comment on my blog a while ago from someone who appreciated edited photographs but preferred to show their photographs just as they were taken. I have no problem with the choices people make in the tools they use or choose not to use. I know my cameras are pretty good at white balance, exposure, contrast, and initial sharpening. But they are not perfect and often need tweaking. Sharpening is a special area as sharpening for the web is slightly different from for a wall-mounted photo. Color and exposure are different if your camera uses a color space like Adobe RGB or SRGB. Maybe I could do a better job on in-camera exposure and using the frame, rather than tweaking exposure afterward and cropping. To sum up cameras are not perfect, how and if you choose to address (or not) these issues is up to you. One thing is certain though, we would all like everything to be perfect once we press the shutter button. I have grown to enjoy editing but it is a different part of the art than the capture.

On the changes to Reader in WordPress: I have been informed that if someone posts four or more photographs four of those photographs will show in reader as a gallery, the only option suggested was posting fewer photographs. I find this a bit hard to swallow, among other objections it might mean fewer people make that second click to the full post.

yellow-rump-3

yellow-rump-2

14 responses

  1. I certainly accept images edited slightly or ‘tweaked’ as I do it myself, especially bird photography. Sometimes I merely erase a little twig poking in from one side of the frame or crop off 1/8″ to make something look balanced (in my eyes).

    My excuse, if you could call it that, is merely my lack of good vision through the viewfinder and almost no appreciable vision in the LCD screen to check what I have shot. I only have ‘distance’ glasses and so, its not until I view my afternoon’s 150-200 photos on a large ultrasharp computer monitor that I can ‘see’ tiny errors or imperfections that I would like to change or correct according to what I like. I never ever share a photo online without a little self criticism or review.

    At the moment, I’m just taking random shots from my desk through the window and wish the damn birds would stand still (and have no thought at composition, exposure or background).

    Victor, I used to, and still do, moan about my less-than-perfect images, but in seeing other amateurs and hearing that the very best National Geographic Photographers do much editing on those spectacular nature images we see in books and online, that I have come to appreciate the value in it (editing).

    Interestingly enough, when I set my DSLRs (2) up with custom styles (increasing the colour, contrast and sharpness up a notch on the slider scales), I was amazed at the regularity of new followers over the last couple of years, despite my lack of much photography locations available over moving apartments around Melbourne. Bold, clear, good contrast DO attract viewers and depending on your taste, adhere to what you would like to see in your final image to share online (or elsewhere).

    The cameras of today are brilliant. But brilliance is not necessarily perfect, or what YOU envisage your resulting image to show. I follow a couple of blogs where the artist has clearly reduced the colour saturation to barely discernible. Not quite monotone, but pale. I love them. They are like watercolours (which I used to paint many, many years ago).

    As my own eyesight fails, I continue to brighten, increase the contrast and sharpen a little more in the Mac’s El Capitan photo editing software which is all my ‘brain fog’ allows these days.

    I have got my Sony ‘mirrorless’ set on the ‘vivid’ style setting at the moment and depending on the season and weather, this may be changed of course. I have discovered the Intelligent Auto setting on the Sony a6000 is brilliant at assessing light and colour. So I’ve gone from Manual Mode, to mainly Shutter Priority (for birds), to Aperture Priority (for grasses and flowers) to Intelligent Auto (for sunsets with difficult contrast conditions).

    Many viewers like strong bold colour and contrast. in this age on modern technology and varying viewing mediums (book, magazine, computer, tablet or iPhone etc) I think a stronger toned image is necessary to attract the viewer’s eye – especially for those photographers or artists who use a blogging platform template which reduces images to thumbnails… 🙂 ..and now, the WP reader is producing thumbnails (ugh!).

    My view is that regardless of what commenters say, your blog and art is your work and should be processed or presented as you like. This applies to any artist using the internet.

    If anyone has criticism, perhaps they should go elsewhere to amuse their waking hours online (on in hardcopy).

    Blogging is not about criticism or negative feedback (unless the blogger asks for opinion or constructive criticism. No one like a rude commenter, but then I’ve fallen into the trap of forgetting that the blogger can’t see the humour or joke and have to remember to add an emoticon to display a smile or LOL.

    When my health improves and I get back to regular outdoor walks, I will give exposure and composition a little more thought (perhaps). In the meantime, my followers are getting little birdies on my balcony and re-rums from my archives (some of which are much better images made 2-3 years ago, than I’ve made in the last few months) 🙂

    Apologies for this long comment, but I’m hot and tired and my fingers are running way ahead of my brain.

    Liked by 3 people

    December 20, 2016 at 3:31 am

    • Thank you for these comments, much food for thought. They are much appreciated. I hope you are feeling better soon.

      Liked by 1 person

      December 20, 2016 at 6:11 am

      • Thanks Victor.
        (you can delete the long comment if you think it takes up too much room. I just think artists of any genre should follow their heart and vision).

        Liked by 1 person

        December 20, 2016 at 8:12 am

    • Great comment!
      My excuse is bad vision 🤓.
      If I put a contact in, I can see the screen and not the subject. Vice-versa with no contact.
      My big excuse? I’m a writer, not a photographer 😉😉

      Liked by 2 people

      December 20, 2016 at 6:49 am

  2. I love the pose on the second one. The bird is a natural….. 🙂

    Like

    December 20, 2016 at 4:56 pm

  3. beautiful sharing..love all your posts..
    let me share some recent work on photography by me
    Nature Wallpaper

    Cute Funny Bird Images

    Beautiful Animals Pictures

    Like

    December 20, 2016 at 9:47 pm

  4. I love these pictures! I started watching birds this summer and saw a warbler like this. My pictures were not like these…I barely got a picture for identification! I still may post it sometime though!

    Like

    December 21, 2016 at 8:51 am

  5. I’ve tried to hold post-processing to a minimum, constrained primarily by time. But your results are outstanding and speak for themselves. I enjoy your blog greatly.

    Like

    December 22, 2016 at 12:48 pm

    • Thank you. It’s a learning curve.

      Like

      December 22, 2016 at 1:23 pm

    • I have as much fun taking photos as editing. For the most part my efforts are very gentle tweaks. I try not to go overboard. Thanks

      Like

      December 22, 2016 at 4:49 pm

  6. Another great set. Love how you handle the colors.

    Like

    January 1, 2017 at 3:10 pm

Leave a Reply

