The Most Frequently Asked Question in the Nature Reserve (Five Photographs)

 turkeyTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Over the last several months, hardly a day goes by in the reserve without someone asking me if I’ve seen the turkey. There was a pair of them, but the male seen here in two of the photos (with his tail feathers up), left some months ago. Some days the female is hidden in the forest, some days she seems a bit upset with people and makes her feelings known, but most of the time she forages. Not the prettiest of birds but certainly an interesting one.

turkey-2

turkey-3

turkey-4

turkey-5

8 responses

  1. Sometimes you look at creatures and wonder what are the functions of the ‘appendages’ that you can see – like the beak flap and saggy necks of the turkey. I can only surmise that these features are regarded as attractive to the opposite sex. The neck danglies are one thing but I figure that beak flap has got to get in the way of eating, drinking and preening. Hmmm.

    Liked by 1 person

    December 26, 2016 at 12:26 pm

    • I see your point, but I think a great bother was being cornered by nature lovers.

      Liked by 1 person

      December 26, 2016 at 12:27 pm

  2. She may not be pretty, but she has a lot of character.

    Liked by 1 person

    December 26, 2016 at 6:10 pm

  3. Excellent Turkey shots, every time I see them, they have their heads down and are eating.

    Like

    December 26, 2016 at 10:47 pm

  4. They have a way of staying hidden. I most often see males in March – May breeding season, then the hens and chicks foraging the rest of the summer. Sometimes a flock will visit under the bird feeder. They are very large birds!

    Like

    December 27, 2016 at 2:49 pm

    • Indeed. I have seen them in large groups never alone.

      Like

      December 27, 2016 at 3:07 pm

      • There is safety in numbers. When I see one alone, I assume it is a young bachelor. (I prefer it to thinking a disaster has befallen the flock.)

        Liked by 1 person

        December 28, 2016 at 8:49 am

Leave a Reply

