Arguments (Six Photographs)

argumentsTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

People can argue about anything, all subjects are up for debate. Arguments go from normal discussion to the vitriolic. Photography is no different; to crop, or not crop, to process or not to process, to use film or go digital, full-frame or cropped, mirror-less or DSLR, the arguments can be endless. I still find myself reading these arguments in forums, on twitter and elsewhere. Some have been amusing, some have been enlightening and some without merit. But I read them because regardless of the tone I might learn something. When someone says cropping is bad because there are limits to resolution I want to know those limits, I want the facts. Just because an article on how to photograph butterflies was illustrated with dragonflies does not mean there is no merit in the article, certainly I cannot make a counter argument until I have heard the author out. The deciding factor is the time we wish to spend and to a lesser extent our stomach for argument. I would argue that an open mind is best able to muster its own arguments, regardless of the subject. Unlike other topics there is no need to man the barricades for photography, if there were I would still want to know what the argument is about before deciding what side of the battle to choose. I know facts are not as important to some as to others; it’s a sign of a closed mind.

arguments-2

arguments-3

arguments-4

arguments-5

arguments-6

 

11 responses

  1. F U L L S P E C T R A

    Great concept, well executed!

    Liked by 1 person

    December 27, 2016 at 2:07 am

  2. Breath-taking street art that speaks for itself!

    Like

    December 27, 2016 at 3:25 am

  3. This is a nice blog but please visit and read the new ultimate theory of human relativity exclusively on My Theory also give me some feedbacks as I am hungry for it.
    From your latest follower My Theory.

    Like

    December 27, 2016 at 10:20 am

  4. always enjoy good street art…i do like the colours…but then b/w also feels timeless…

    Like

    December 27, 2016 at 4:50 pm

  5. I must say, I always like seeing the colour and B & W version together. It’s always interesting to see what stands out.

    Like

    December 27, 2016 at 6:14 pm

  6. To crop or not to crop – that’s an easy one for me. I photograph everything in the largest size and resolution since I only have a 18-55mm zoom lens. Then I can crop out my butterflies and bees and bugs without too much loss – unless they are just too far away.

    Love the street art and the B&W comparisons.

    Like

    December 28, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Leave a Reply

