Nuthatch and a Word on Selective Focus (Three Photographs)

nuthatch-2To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

You will note that the focus fades the further down the body of the nuthatch in the two color versions. There are two schools of thought on this use of selective focus, either it attracts the eye to the face of the subject or it’s distracting. It can work either way and some people may never notice it. I included one bird in profile, because that is what the books say you should shoot to get the most in focus. I chose B&W because I thought the background was suitable. People get nuthatches to eat out of their palms, but with beaks like that I think I’ll pass.

nuthatch

nuthatch-3

20 responses

  1. First picture can be rare. All are nice photos.

    Like

    January 7, 2017 at 1:10 am

  2. shungphotography

    All are great images. I like the simple background making the main subject, in this case, the head and eyes, stands out.

    Like

    January 7, 2017 at 8:16 am

  3. The shallow focus doesn’t bother me at all. Great images. Don’t think I’d have the patience or dexterity to get shots like this.

    Like

    January 7, 2017 at 2:37 pm

  4. True that most birds don’t realize how delicate we actually are. Even a tiny parakeet can cause a lot of damage!

    Liked by 1 person

    January 7, 2017 at 4:10 pm

  5. Great shots of these agile fellows; the texture of the bark adds to the background in both the color and BW versions.

    Like

    January 7, 2017 at 4:17 pm

  6. You’ve captured some great classic nuthatch poses here, Victor, with impressive clarity!

    Like

    January 7, 2017 at 6:27 pm

  7. Such beautiful birds and great captures, Victor.

    Like

    January 7, 2017 at 6:57 pm

  8. All are outstanding, Victor. You comment about Han-feeding a nuthatch made me smile. 😊

    Like

    January 7, 2017 at 9:08 pm

  9. I’ve accidentally gotten a small focus point when I messed around with my camera settings, a few times now. It gives a lovely effect. Love your birds, especially the first image.

    Like

    January 9, 2017 at 4:20 pm

    • Thank you. Happy accidents are great they teach.

      Liked by 1 person

      January 9, 2017 at 4:21 pm

      • Only if one can recall what one did! I recently locked my focus and the shutter wouldn’t release and, for nearly a month, thought I had broken my camera. I got out my ‘Nikon D3000 for Dummies’ book and went through all my settings, trying to remember what I changed when I first got the book. Still not sure what I had done. Got it going again, and am more careful now!

        Like

        January 9, 2017 at 4:40 pm

  10. Thank you for stopping by Storyteller. — Ray

    Liked by 1 person

    January 23, 2017 at 12:08 pm

Leave a Reply

