The Winter Blues – Tips (Four Photographs)

female-cardinal-in-the-snow-4  To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Winter poses a number of challenges for photography. Snow, for example, if not under-exposed (by a stop or two) will go blue (See last photo). That under-exposure may lose detail in the snow, and may change the coloring of your subject. Of course you could take that same photo as I have done here and make a small white balance adjustment, mitigate the blue with negative saturation and a bit more luminance. Regardless you need some gray to give definition to the snow. A third alternative is to go monochrome for the snow and keep the bird in color (maybe even use duo-toning). Regardless, your camera will misread snow unless you take steps at the time or in post–processing to fix it. Batteries drain faster in the cold, so an extra battery stored under your coat will help. Big disclaimer for this third tip: I have used it, but it may not be perfect in every situation and for every camera. On days when you can see your breath (some say -10 C) coming in from the cold will lead to condensation in your lens and camera and could possibly lead to mold, damage to internal circuitry etc.. The solution I use is to wrap the camera in two common plastic grocery bags, placing the camera in the innermost bag so that condensation accumulates between the two bags. Leave the camera in the bags for several hours until you are sure that they are at room temperature. As an additional warning in this context, I have a camera body that ceases to function in the slightest cold and I suspect that that is due to some condensation that crept into the mechanics in spite of my precautions.

female-cardinal-in-the-snow-3

female-cardinal-in-the-snow-2

female-cardinal-in-the-snow

 

13 responses

  1. Wow great !!! https://onemanoneclick.wordpress.com/

    Like

    January 13, 2017 at 7:01 am

  2. My problem is that the 2 cardinals that visit my feeder are so paranoid, the second I try to take pix, all I get is blur 😣

    Like

    January 13, 2017 at 7:38 am

    • Try setting up on a tripod and shooting at very high isos and speed. You might get one flight.

      Liked by 1 person

      January 13, 2017 at 7:48 am

  3. Nice photos

    Like

    January 13, 2017 at 10:41 am

  4. Great shots especially the one of him hopping. Sometimes when shooting in the cold I have put my camera under my coat until I got back to my car and then left it in it’s bag with one of those silicon packets in the car for awhile. So far no issues but I’ve had batteries drain like mad from the cold.

    Like

    January 13, 2017 at 11:16 am

  5. Interesting…..because I think the last shot looks more natural.

    Like

    January 13, 2017 at 2:33 pm

  6. Good advice on preventing condensation from the change in temperatures. I do something similar with ziplock bags. At the very least, I try and leave the gear in the camera bag and let it come to temp over time.

    Liked by 1 person

    January 17, 2017 at 3:15 am

Leave a Reply

