The Grackles’ Scowls (Four Photographs)

the-grackle-scowl-2To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I was going through my catalogue and these images of various grackles stood out. My tendency to anthropomorphize has not waned. Grackles are great birds to shoot, but their dark feathers are hard to expose for without blowing out the background. Most photographers would agree that any bird with character is worth shooting, the grackle is among those birds with an excess of character, but unfortunately not many scruples when it comes to other aspects of its life like plundering gardens.

the-grackle-scowl

the-grackle-scowl-4

the-grackle-scowl-3

15 responses

  1. I love grackles! And you have captured them perfectly. When I see them in person, they are always so iridescent. I rarely see photographs of them that capture that. I am not a photographer, but I can readily appreciate your skill in capturing their character and their brilliant colors.

    Like

    January 15, 2017 at 1:40 am

  2. So beautiful… this is my first time seeing this bird in such closeup. It’s beautiful. Thank you 🙂

    Like

    January 15, 2017 at 7:12 am

  3. They do look pissed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    January 15, 2017 at 7:43 am

  4. “An excess of character”. Lol, great way to put it! That first shot is an especially terrific expression.

    Like

    January 15, 2017 at 8:29 am

  5. Beautiful shots, Victor. I agree, I have had similar experiences photographing Grackles, they are a challenge, but I love a challenge so it suits me. They do have a very big personality, so at times it’s taken longer to capture them, I’ve learned to have a great deal of patience.

    Like

    January 15, 2017 at 4:11 pm

  6. Nothing ‘common’ about them! Love the jewel-tones so well captured in that first shot.

    Like

    January 15, 2017 at 4:44 pm

  7. Nice photos, you really captured the iridescent shine well.

    Like

    January 15, 2017 at 10:47 pm

  8. Love these, Victor. We, too, enjoy the personality of grackles, and I am quite guilty of anthropomorphizing as well. Very nice shots.

    Like

    January 16, 2017 at 11:03 am

Leave a Reply

