Canada Goose (Two Photographs)

canada-geese-2To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I am still upset that neither the Canada Goose nor Loon won the contest for Canada’s National Bird, instead the gray jay, a bird I have never heard of and from the sounds of it will never see, won. Having thought about it a while I looked for some Canada Goose photos, where I could best show off the bird. These two photos were prepared in color and then processed in black and white. The water was always very blue, but I darkened it with neutral density filters in the processing. Then in the conversion to black and white, I used a red filter to accentuate the blue even further. Using mainly exposure, contrast, highlights and mid-tones I built up a sort of vignette to get the effect you see here. I think the technique shows off the bird at it’s best.

canada-geese-4

 

 

10 responses

  1. Excellent in BNW, loved these

    Like

    January 25, 2017 at 1:06 am

  2. I’ve seen Gray Jays at Crater Lake National Park in the US.

    Like

    January 25, 2017 at 7:23 am

  3. Like these B & W images!

    Like

    January 25, 2017 at 12:02 pm

  4. Beautiful tones

    Like

    January 25, 2017 at 4:15 pm

  5. Lovely photography! there’s a couple of families of these birds living by the waterside of the Old Industrial Docks of Salford (Manchester – England). Pass them every day when I’m headed to the Imperial War Museum (North) on the banks of the ship canal. Cheers for Sharing.

    Like

    February 14, 2017 at 8:25 pm

Leave a Reply

