A Green Heron (Three Photographs)

green-heronTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

It’s hard to tell if this Green Heron was going for a fish or a hairdo. The intense colors and contrast in these photos come from shooting at ISO 400. For a very long time it was my standard starting point. Now I have shifted to auto ISO on the D500 when shooting birds, and often the colors are more toned down. But understanding that this is the case I can shift back and forth in my settings as I chose how to shoot. It’s just one of those things that resulted from trying new things, learning new features on my camera. Well worth the effort!

green-heron-2

green-heron-3

9 responses

  1. I think he got a mohawk hair cut. 🙂

    Like

    March 18, 2017 at 7:12 am

  2. Great capture of the “dive” amongst the lily pads.

    Like

    March 18, 2017 at 9:37 am

  3. Fun series – love that crown shot!

    Like

    March 18, 2017 at 11:23 am

Leave a Reply

