A Female Wood Duck (Three Photographs)

wood-duckTo view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

This is another set where I tried various options until I got what I wanted. I have shot a lot of wood ducks against this kind of water so it was time to try something new. The original photo is the last in the series, the B&W second and the third a hybrid, where I partially de-saturated the image with a B&W preset then lowered its intensity and then finally brought back the colors in a more muted way. I think this adds a bit of artificiality to the shot, but nonetheless does give the wood duck a dignified look. The ordering of the photos influences an audience I am told, so I my placed the photo I like best, the muted version, first.

wood-duck-2

wood-duck-3

4 responses

  1. I confess that this time I most like the more intense version at the top

    Like

    March 30, 2017 at 7:08 am

  2. This is a female duck because the head feathers are not glossy? By the way, thank you for complementing these photos with details on how you edit them, I learn quite a bit from it! -Verne

    Like

    March 30, 2017 at 4:35 pm

Leave a Reply

