Cropping to the rescue? (Two Photographs)

wood-duck-2To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

Sometimes we just don’t get what we expected in focus. In many cases this is a result of a bad choice of aperture. In this example (the color version) the situation may be less of a problem. In B&W, the issue was highlighted and in my view unworkable. One way around this is a creative crop. Professional photographers I have met spend a lot of time thinking about the frame and the eventual crop. I have seen photographers take large format 8×10 photos and crop to half that size as they re-think their composition. In the digital world we have many options for cropping and in the black and white version I have used a cinema crop. The subject has not changed, the context has. I find filling the frame constrains my ability for fine-tuning my composition. Many of the photo reviews I have seen, where one photographer reviews another person’s work, tend to discuss cropping more than any other issue.

wood-duck-2-2

6 responses

  1. Beautiful!

    Like

    April 2, 2017 at 8:50 am

  2. I think one of the reasons cropping is discussed so often is because it is one of what I consider to be the three main components of a photograph: subject, light, and composition. Cropping, whether in camera or post production, can be an integral part of composition.

    Like

    April 2, 2017 at 4:26 pm

  3. Seattle Park Lover

    Some purists don’t crop at all. I admire people who can get it right in the frame while shooting almost every time. But I have a terrible tendency to overlook stupid distractions. I’d rather shoot a bit wide and then take my time with the image file to get the best composition. Simetimes I’ll crop a photo 3 or 4 slightly different ways and compare them before settling on which one I like best.

    Like

    April 2, 2017 at 4:33 pm

    • I don’t know too many purists in this regard. But I see the point. Like you I experiment.

      Liked by 1 person

      April 2, 2017 at 4:39 pm

Leave a Reply

