1915 (Two Photographs)

To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I took several photographs of this mansion, while several people looked at me askance unsure of what I was shooting. But no one spoke to me. There were two things that struck me: the date 1915 and the shadows. I am hard-pressed to understand how a mansion like this was built in the midst of WWI. Using my Fuji I was able to get a balanced exposure where neither the sky nor the building were burnt out, but the shadows were retained. Neutral density filters are sometimes used in photography to darken the sky and lighten the foreground, but I did not have one with me. So most of this is the result of in camera efforts with detail extraction and some work with the color in post processing.

5 responses

  1. Daddy Warbucks?

    Like

    April 3, 2017 at 11:13 am

  2. B&W is perfect here.

    Like

    April 3, 2017 at 11:27 am

  3. Perhaps the local historical society, if there is one, can help with the history of the building.

    Like

    April 3, 2017 at 7:40 pm

Leave a Reply

