The Big Dinner (Three Photographs)

To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

For some time I lamented that our Herons and Egrets seemed satisfied with minnow sized fish. But I was equally disappointed when they did finally catch larger fish because of the rather messy work that goes into preparing the fish before it’s devoured. I have discarded a lot of insect photos for similar reasons. I realize that nature has its rough edges and I am no softie, but I do think about a blog audience who happens by chance on this mayhem. It may be great photography, but it does not fit well with the rest of my work.

8 responses

  1. I have the same issues Victor. Life in the swamps can be, well, less than nice. We photograph what we see, but it’s not always released to the public. The big question is how to draw the line ? Great photos and good selection.

    Like

    April 6, 2017 at 11:58 am

    • Good question. I read on line that no one has seen a daddy long legs eat, I could send them a photo😀

      Liked by 1 person

      April 6, 2017 at 12:00 pm

  2. I really like the way the soft water/Lillypad background compliments these compositions. What I find disturbing is seeing a blue heron consume one of my koi. My alligator decoy seems to be keeping them away from my pond. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    April 6, 2017 at 6:25 pm

    • Thank you. I have heard of herons raiding people’s ponds. The alligator sound like a great idea😀

      Liked by 1 person

      April 6, 2017 at 6:27 pm

  3. This is such an interesting series of photographs!

    Like

    April 7, 2017 at 9:05 am

  4. Nice catch(es)!

    Like

    April 8, 2017 at 9:22 am

Leave a Reply

