Inspiration (Three Photographs)

To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I was taught that words have meaning and that communication depends on using the right words and understanding their meaning. The word “inspiration” is one of the words often used in photography. But the active element of that word is sometimes ignored. You are inspired to do something; being inspired without result is a non-sequitur. Many years ago I was gifted a coffee-table book called “Nomad, A Photographic Odyssey” by David Douglas Duncan. It’s also called “Yankee Nomad”. This eclectic photographer was a war correspondent, a photographer of Picasso, of travel and a people photographer extraordinaire. He was also one of the earliest champions of Nikon cameras. Having lost his original gear in combat, he replaced it with Nikon, which turned out to be much better than what he had. My copy of the book is well-worn. It inspired me to be eclectic, to try different things and types of photography. Nature photography is a relatively recent area of photography for me. With my new Fuji, I am trying to get back into more urban work. Photography has an unlimited number of subjects. It’s one of the things I like most about it.

5 responses

  1. I love taking photographs of many subjects but I would say birds are my current favourite.

    Like

    April 18, 2017 at 1:44 am

  2. I’m fond of your nature photos and your insects really changed the way I look at them. So you, in turn inspire, Victor!

    Like

    April 18, 2017 at 1:37 pm

  3. I hope you find birds in your urban work too. That first one is just adorable – I think it’s a chickadee? We don’t see those here.

    Like

    April 19, 2017 at 1:53 pm

Leave a Reply

