Writing About Photography (Three Photographs)

To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I have been doing this daily blog for over five years now. At the beginning I wondered if I would have enough to say and from time to time I might repeat myself. However, photography is fascinating enough and has so many elements that I now doubt one could run out of ideas, let alone things to talk about. I try not to sound preachy but I do have views. Much of what I have written about has been part of my adventure and looking back over my photographs a lot has changed. I like to think that I have improved and learned a few things worth sharing. The duck in this post is a male American Widgeon. Taken in the fall it’s one of those situations where the background can overwhelm the subject, but I love the painterly background and I think it makes for a great atmosphere for this duck. These are old photos published for the first time.

10 responses

  1. Nitin Khanna

    Awesome Work i must say. Loved Your Work and Efforts. Really it Require lots of Patience and Efforts in order to capture shots like this. Started Following your work and wondering if ever i could learn upto this level. I started photography to inspire others and still i am working for others to raise them as good photographers. You can see my work at http://www.nitinkhanna.net/ and Let me know how is it. I would love to hear it from you and if we could work together ever it would be great.

    Liked by 1 person

    April 20, 2017 at 8:12 am

  2. The reflections are beautiful – very Monet!

    Like

    April 20, 2017 at 8:33 pm

  3. Great shots. I sent you an email asking you a lighting question. Did you receive it?

    Like

    April 21, 2017 at 8:20 am

    • Yes I did. I thought I answered, sounds like my SmugMug Mail is not working. I believe you asked if I use artificial lighting, flash. I do. Wish I did not have to. Sb900 flash in manual, usually 1/8th power, on camera shooting through an ezybox hot shoe flash ( by lastolite) with a Godox pb960 battery pack (the latter’ charge lasts six months, no time lapse between shots). Sorry about the delay in responding, I have to fix that mail server.

      Like

      April 21, 2017 at 8:26 am

      • Thanks. I’m considering getting a ring light macro flash. What are your thoughts on those?

        Like

        April 21, 2017 at 8:33 am

        • Never tried one. I tried the dedicated Nikon macro flash heads, not enough diffusion. Ring flash, I may be wrong, could depending on how far away you are from the subject add shadows, or flatten the light. Most cannot be diffused. I should try one, rent one if possible.

          Liked by 1 person

          April 21, 2017 at 8:39 am

  4. No, the background is great and makes the shots wonderful.

    Like

    April 21, 2017 at 3:30 pm

Leave a Reply

