Writing About Photography (Three Photographs)

To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I have been doing this daily blog for over five years now. At the beginning I wondered if I would have enough to say and from time to time I might repeat myself. However, photography is fascinating enough and has so many elements that I now doubt one could run out of ideas, let alone things to talk about. I try not to sound preachy but I do have views. Much of what I have written about has been part of my adventure and looking back over my photographs a lot has changed. I like to think that I have improved and learned a few things worth sharing. The duck in this post is a male American Widgeon. Taken in the fall it’s one of those situations where the background can overwhelm the subject, but I love the painterly background and I think it makes for a great atmosphere for this duck. These are old photos published for the first time.

12 responses

  1. great post, im kind of doing the same thing as you but only just started 86 days ago, its good to see thats its actually possible!! keep at it and thanks for the post!

    Like

    June 27, 2017 at 9:05 am

  2. No, the background is great and makes the shots wonderful.

    Like

    April 21, 2017 at 3:30 pm

  3. Great shots. I sent you an email asking you a lighting question. Did you receive it?

    Like

    April 21, 2017 at 8:20 am

    • Yes I did. I thought I answered, sounds like my SmugMug Mail is not working. I believe you asked if I use artificial lighting, flash. I do. Wish I did not have to. Sb900 flash in manual, usually 1/8th power, on camera shooting through an ezybox hot shoe flash ( by lastolite) with a Godox pb960 battery pack (the latter’ charge lasts six months, no time lapse between shots). Sorry about the delay in responding, I have to fix that mail server.

      Like

      April 21, 2017 at 8:26 am

      • Thanks. I’m considering getting a ring light macro flash. What are your thoughts on those?

        Like

        April 21, 2017 at 8:33 am

        • Never tried one. I tried the dedicated Nikon macro flash heads, not enough diffusion. Ring flash, I may be wrong, could depending on how far away you are from the subject add shadows, or flatten the light. Most cannot be diffused. I should try one, rent one if possible.

          Liked by 1 person

          April 21, 2017 at 8:39 am

  4. The reflections are beautiful – very Monet!

    Like

    April 20, 2017 at 8:33 pm

  5. Nitin Khanna

    Awesome Work i must say. Loved Your Work and Efforts. Really it Require lots of Patience and Efforts in order to capture shots like this. Started Following your work and wondering if ever i could learn upto this level. I started photography to inspire others and still i am working for others to raise them as good photographers. You can see my work at http://www.nitinkhanna.net/ and Let me know how is it. I would love to hear it from you and if we could work together ever it would be great.

    Liked by 1 person

    April 20, 2017 at 8:12 am

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.