Street Photography (Two Photographs)

To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

This could be a public service message about when to and when not to use a smart phone, however the man was crossing on a green light. Street photography is hard to explain and define in my view. It’s often defined as candid photography of people in public places, usually in black and white. On my SmugMug website I have used the term to capture street art, markets etc.; the architecture of the street as well as people. I know it’s a stretch and I may be convinced to change it. It is certainly easier to take street art and storefront reflections than photographs of people you don’t know. I’m getting my courage back and I will see where that takes me.

7 responses

  1. Phones are the reason pedestrian accidents are on the rise as your photo illustrates. Hopefully, drivers aren’t texting, too. It really has become a safety hazard!

    Like

    May 10, 2017 at 9:59 pm

  2. Seattle Park Lover

    Apparently some people love to fight to the bitter end over the definition of street photography. Purists say it isn’t street if you don’t include people. I think that’s silly, and unnecessarily narrow. If you’re taking intimate photos of city streets (not sweeping cityscapes or giant monuments) what else would you call it? I mean, if you really think about it, it’s called street photography, not candid city people photography. The genre easily has room to incorporate anything in that style, people or no.

    Like you I’ve been trying to get up the courage to do more guerilla style candids, but it takes a specific mindset to both see the shot and actually take it. Nice shots posted above.

    Like

    May 17, 2017 at 11:52 am

Leave a Reply

