My First Butterfly of the Season (Three Photographs)

To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

This Eastern Comma was probably in search of sap. Some of the trees are dripping, but the temperature is still a bit cool and that probably also slowed the butterfly down. This is my first insect of 2017, and with luck there will be many more. I was not prepared for shooting insects. I used my 200-500mm lens but it seems to have caught the detail needed. I have included a black and white photograph just for the fun of it.

6 responses

  1. Beautifully captured. One of my favourite subjects, but hard to catch with wings spread. Well done!!

    Like

    May 18, 2017 at 11:06 am

  2. There’s something about the b/w capture I really was attracted to. I think it’s the wing and antennae going into the negative space. Wonderful post, Victor. ❤

    Like

    May 18, 2017 at 5:52 pm

  3. Pretty butterfly, and the b&w image is outstanding.

    Like

    May 18, 2017 at 7:05 pm

Leave a Reply

