A Red Squirrel and a Chipmunk (Two Photographs) – why I take several shots of any subject.

 To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

It helps your photography when animals are distracted by food or when frozen in place waiting to see what you do. It gives just enough time to compose, get settings right and shoot. After that if they do not run away so much the better. I took about 10-15 different shots of these creatures and narrowed my selection to these two. I have seen many photographers take a single photo and walk away. I take lots of photos when I find a good subject. In addition to having a chance of getting a better expression, it’s only later when reviewing them that I can see the detail that interests me, like the position of the paws. So one of the best lessons I have learned is to keep pressing the button when there is the slightest chance of catching more detail, the subject moving into a better position or changing expression.

6 responses

  1. You are right. With digital cameras, there is no good reason not to make more than one shot.

    Liked by 1 person

    May 28, 2017 at 7:05 am

  2. Good philosophy, Victor – especially as, in this digital age, there’s no cost-per-exposure.

    Liked by 1 person

    May 28, 2017 at 9:55 am

  3. Burst exposure can be helpful to obtain interesting and natural captures of wildlife.

    Like

    May 28, 2017 at 11:57 am

Leave a Reply

