Green Heron (Three Photographs)

To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

These are from last year but I never posted them before. I am not getting as much time in the field as I would have liked. One of the reasons I was reluctant to post these was the unusual lighting. The overcast sky acts like a soft box smoothing out the light. The result is that the photos look a bit like a museum diorama and lack a sense of depth that gives life to nature photographs. This light is perfect for insects, but less helpful for birds in the open. That said the heron seems to have enjoyed its meal of a large bee.

9 responses

  1. Nothing you photograph could look bad, though, Victor, even with less lighting!

    Like

    June 6, 2017 at 2:00 am

  2. Nice catch

    Like

    June 6, 2017 at 2:23 am

  3. I think these photos are great! You got the bird, its tongue, its snack, the surroundings, and it is clear. That’s way more than I can say for my own bird photography. Plus, you got photos of a cool bird that I will likely never see in my backyard. These earn 5 stars in my book. 🙂

    Like

    June 6, 2017 at 3:06 am

  4. I always enjoy seeing a green heron. Despite your concern about the light, these are very good. I especially like the first one.

    Like

    June 6, 2017 at 11:39 am

Leave a Reply

