Desperation (Two Photographs)

To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I took this Phoebe at ISO 1250 and shot at 1/1000th of a second. This was a higher ISO and higher shutter speed than the situation warranted, but I was afraid the bird would fly before I could re-adjust. Normally I shoot with a shutter speed on my 200-500mm lens between 1/500th and 1/750Th of a second and that would have meant being able to reduce the ISO to 800 or even 600. However, sometimes it’s better to get the shot and not worry. Another issue I have chosen to ignore in this photo is the bright white wood of the dead tree. Normally our eyes are drawn to the brightest thing in the photo, there are exceptions and I hope this is one of them.

 

7 responses

  1. Nice shot

    Like

    June 20, 2017 at 10:13 am

  2. It is wonderful work

    Like

    June 20, 2017 at 12:27 pm

  3. I think it works well because the phoebe and the branch it’s sitting on are very similar colors – and I love the backlit wing in the first one.

    Liked by 1 person

    June 20, 2017 at 4:45 pm

    • Thank you. I appreciate the comment helps me understand how others see the photo.

      Liked by 1 person

      June 20, 2017 at 4:48 pm

Leave a Reply

