Remembrance of Things Past (Two Photographs)

To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

The color version of this photo was just too vibrant for my tastes. You have to give credit to the person who created this scene, plastic fries and all. Given the outrageous color, I am far more comfortable with the Black and White, which leaves little to the imagination and tones down the fluorescent orange. A lesson I have learned about color is that it can overwhelm and sometimes detracts from the broader picture or other details like the dice hanging from the mirror.

 

8 responses

  1. A few years ago I shot a car show and one had a similar A&W food tray. They make great photos. Nice shots, I do like the color a little better though 😀

    Like

    July 11, 2017 at 9:18 am

  2. Seattle Park Lover

    Brings back memories of going to A&W as a kid for rootbeer floats and ordering using the little speaker boxes. Whoever set this up ruined the effect a bit by adding the modern plastic bottle though. I agree the B&W is much less garish and makes for a nice photo, but there’s something to be said for the color version also.

    Like

    July 11, 2017 at 9:58 am

    • Thanks you are the second person to say the color stands out.

      Like

      July 11, 2017 at 2:29 pm

  3. I remember, as a kid, going with the family to the A&W drive-in. It was always exciting when the tray was brought out and hung onto Dad’s window. I still have a vivid memory of these days from the back seat.

    Like

    July 12, 2017 at 10:23 am

  4. Hi Victor, I actually like the color version. I recall a color combination assignment back in photo school in the early 80’s – orange and blue was my favorite. I like the b&w too, but would increase the luminance of orange to get the tray contrast in the color image. I really enjoy your blog!

    Like

    July 15, 2017 at 12:46 pm

Leave a Reply

