A Bee and Some Comments on Close-up Photography (Two Photographs)

To view more of my photography please click on www.rakmilphotography.com

I took these less than a minute apart. The light changed and while I am pleased with the photos, I did not use artificial light. With artificial light I could have lowered the ISO and improved the quality of the photo with a touch more detail and greater sharpness. A higher ISO would have added too much visible noise. The photo was cropped significantly as are most close-up photos of insects. My conclusion is that insect photography, even in bright sunlight benefits from artificial light (and extension tubes). Technical details: 1/400th of a second and f7.1, ISO 640 on a cropped sensor Nikon D7200 with a full frame 105mm lens and no extension tubes.

7 responses

  1. Stunning photos.

    Like

    August 3, 2017 at 8:27 am

  2. karpetlapangan

    Awesome !

    Like

    August 3, 2017 at 10:34 pm

  3. Amazing pic

    Like

    August 4, 2017 at 1:51 am

  4. While I understand what you are saying, I like them this way too. Sometimes I accidentally get a macro shot that looks like it was done in a studio. Its great but not sure I’d want them all that way. These are beautiful photos.

    Like

    August 8, 2017 at 8:33 am

Leave a Reply

